There are many great literary events around Indianapolis and beyond.  Looking for something to do?  Here are just a few ideas:

Undocumented: Poems of Social Justice, featuring Indiana Poets

Saturday, April 20, 2019 at 7 PM – 10 PM
Indiana Writers Center
1125 E. Brookside Ave., Ste. B25,
Indianapolis, Indiana 46202

Featuring four former Indiana poet laureates reading their work from poets the anthology UNDOCUMENTED: GREAT LAKES POETS LAUREATE ON SOCIAL JUSTICE, edited by Ron Riekki and Andrea Scarpino: Shari Wagner, Karen Kovacik, Norbert Krapf, and George Kalamaras, plus other selected poems to be read by guest readers.
Free!

     
Sponsored by PEN America and the Indiana Writers Center



Brick Street Poetry at the Indianapolis Artsgarden
Twelve outstanding Indiana poets will share their work with audiences at the Indianapolis Artsgarden on four Mondays in April in honor of National Poetry Month.

Join us (12pm) at the Indianapolis Artsgarden to hear works from:

April 15: Dan Carpenter, Jessica Thompson and David Shumate

April 22: Mary Sexson, Rosemary Freedman and Lylanne Musselman

Poets who would like to share their poems during the program can stop by the College Avenue library, phone 317 275 4322, or e-mail at sbahler@indypl.org to pre-register.
(Registration is not required if people simply want to attend the event.)



Indy Reads Books
https://www.facebook.com/IndyReadsBooks/
911 Massachusetts Ave

Doug Walsh reading from "Tailwinds Past Florence"
Friday, April 12, 7:00pm – 8:30pm


Tailwinds Past Florence is a road-tripping love story with a time travel twist, inspired by the two years the author spent cycling around the world.

Doug Walsh was born in New Jersey and now writes from the Snoqualmie Valley in Washington state. A longtime author of video game strategy guides for Brady Games, Tailwinds Past Florence marks his debut into fiction. The novel was inspired by his round-the-world bicycle travels.
www.dougwalsh.com
https://www.facebook.com/DougWalsh.Author/
https://www.instagram.com/dougwalshwrites/
https://twitter.com/doug_walsh75

 

Big Read: True Grit Kickoff Event
April 13 @ 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art
500 W. Washington St., Indianapolis, Indiana 46204    

Join us for a day of Western-themed family programming inspired by the book True Grit. Families can expect to enjoy chuck wagon grub, meet and learn about Cameo the horse and her cowboy Paul, hear stories of real western heroes such as Nat Love and Stagecoach Mary, play western games, get creative with hands-on art activities and don’t forget to snag a pic with John Wayne.

1 p.m. – Hear from Jay Jennings, author of Escape Velocity: A Charles Portis Miscellany, who will provide insight from his 30-year relationship into the life of Charles Portis, author of True Grit. A book signing will follow.

Cost:
Eiteljorg members – Free
Non-members/General Public – Program included with admission to the museum



Nandi Comer: American Family: A Syndrome Reading
With Manon Voice and Lydia Johnson
Saturday, April 13 at 7 PM – 9 PM
Future Friends Holographic Magic Club

1043 Virginia Ave Suite 213, Indianapolis, Indiana 46203

Nandi Comer is the author of the chapbook, American Family: A Syndrome on Finishing on Line Press. Her first full length about Mexican wrestling, Tapping Out will be out next year on Northwestern University Press. She’s had poems published Crab Orchard Review, Blue Shift Journal, and The Offing. In 2016 she was named a Write A House fellow but she’d like everyone to know the house was never awarded so please don’t ask her about a house. She is originally from Detroit.

Free but donations for poets encouraged.
Nandi will also have chapbooks for sale.


Storytelling Arts of Indiana
https://storytellingarts.org/event/annual-fundraiser-featuring-kevin-kling/?instance_id=304


Talk of the Town featuring Kevin Kling telling the Best Summer Ever
Saturday, April 13 at 07:00-10:00 pm
Indiana History Center

450 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202
Tickets: $35-$50  

Kevin is perhaps best known for his role on NPR’s All Things Considered.  He is also well known for his stage performances such as Tales from the Charred Underbelly of the Yule Log.  He is also an accomplished author and playwright, and has five published books.  He has received numerous accolades and endowments, Including The National Endowment for the Arts, The McKnight Foundation, The Minnesota State Arts Board, The Bush Foundation, The Jerome Foundation, and many more.


Vivian S. Delbrook Visiting Writers Series/Butler University
https://www.butler.edu/vws

Andre AcimanAndré Aciman
Tuesday, April 16, 7:30 PM
Atherton Union, Reilly Room

Harvard Square (2013), Eight White Nights (2010), and Call Me by Your Name (2007), the memoir Out of Egypt (1994), and the essay collections Alibis: Essays on Elsewhere (2011) and False Papers: Essays on Exile and Memory (2000). He also coauthored and edited The Proust Project and Letters of Transit (2004).

His work has appeared in the New York Times, The New Yorker, the New York Review of Books, the New Republic, Granta Magazine, and the Paris Review, as well as in several volumes of The Best American Essays. He has won a Whiting Writers’ Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and a fellowship from the New York Public Library’s Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers.

Aciman earned his Ph.D. and A.M. in comparative literature from Harvard University and a B.A. in English and comparative literature from Lehman College. Aciman is currently Distinguished Professor of Comparative Literature at the Graduate Center of City University in New York. Previously he taught creative writing at New York University and French literature at Princeton University and Bard College.

Although his specialty is in sixteenth- and seventeenth-century English, French, and Italian literature, he is especially interested in the theory of the psychological novel (roman d’analyse) across boundaries and eras. In addition to the history of literary theory, he teaches the work of Marcel Proust and the literature of memory and exile.

His novel Call Me by Your Name won the 2007 Lambda Literary Award for Gay Fiction and was released as a film which won an Academy Award for best adapted screenplay in 2018.

 


Thursday, April 18, 2019 at 7 PM – 10 PM
Central Library - IndyPL

40 East Saint Clair Street, Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

HAPPY NATIONAL POETRY MONTH FAMILY!  We're back this month with another beautiful edition of TPOM! We call this one "Poetry & Prose" as we UPLIFT and CELEBRATE the craft of Poetry, Spoken Word, and Hip-Hop!

We're excited to bring BACK one of our favorite Sistars to FEATURE this month! Representing the city of Chicago will be none other than International Spoken Word Artist and Author, K-LOVE THE POET!  We're also excited to FEATURE one of Indy's FINEST - Visual Artist and Live Painter, MECHI SHAKUR!
Hosted By Mariah Ivey!
Live Music Provided By TribeSouL AND SlickVic the DJ!

Open Mic List Sign Ups start at 7PM (first come, first serve)!
Doors open at 7pm, Show starts at 8pm
Cover $7 (cash)



NEA Big Read True Grit: Saloon Night
https://www.facebook.com/events/301121760760750/

Thursday, April 25, 2019 at 6 PM – 8 PM
Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art

500 W. Washington St., Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Don your favorite western duds and learn about the colorful origins of real saloon drinks with James Nottage, vice president and chief curatorial officer emeritus. Enjoy cocktail samples created by Hotel Tango bartenders and learn how old recipes are updated for today’s discerning palates. Enjoy poetry shared by local poets, inspired by surprising original saloon drink names, then get to know your table mates as you come up with your own poem to share. Recipes will be available so you can experiment with cocktails at home.
**Event is 21+**
Tickets by Eventbrite


Second Flight Books
https://www.facebook.com/events/295948061079226/
2200 Elmwood Ave, Suite D-7, Lafayette, Indiana 47904


Author Annie Ward Reading from Beautiful Bad
Wednesday, April 24 at 6:30 PM – 7:30 PM


Join author Annie Ward as she reads from her new thriller Beautiful Bad (A staff favorite!).
In the tradition of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train comes the psychological thriller everyone is talking about, a twisted novel about a devoted wife, a loving husband, and a chilling crime that will stun even the cleverest readers.

She'll sign copies following the reading.

Annie Ward has a BA in English Literature from UCLA and a MFA in Screenwriting from the American Film Institute. Her first short screenplay, Strange Habit, starring Adam Scott was an official selection of the Sundance Film Festival and the Grand Jury Award winner at the Aspen Film Festival. She has received a Fulbright Scholarship and An Escape to Create Artists residency. She lives in Kansas with her family.

 

MOKB Presents

Neil Hilborn w/ Special Guests
Thursday, May 2nd @ Fountain Square Theatre Building
Doors 7PM / Show 8PM

All shows 21+

Advance: $22
Day of Show: $24
Get Tickets:https://www.eventbrite.com/e/neil-hilborn-fountain-square-theatre-tickets-56747223473

More info at http://www.mokbpresents.com/. Have a question? Email us at natalie@mokbpresents.com!

 

Neil Hilborn is a College National Poetry Slam champion, and a 2011 graduate with honors from Macalester College with a degree in Creative Writing.

 

Written by Roxanna Santoro — April 02, 2019


© Indiana Writers Center 2012