There are many great literary events around Indianapolis and beyond.  Looking for something to do?  Here are just a few ideas:

The Poets Laureate of Lawrence

(www.artsforlawrence.org)
 
Tuesday, August 27 from 7-9 pm
The Theater at the Fort on Indy's east side
Sterrett Center

8920 Otis Avenue, Lawrence, 46226
(Take 56th Street to Post Road. Go North on Post and West on Otis.)

Please join us at The Poets Laureate of Lawrence – we host a monthly featured author followed by an open reading that happens on the 4th Tuesday of each month. 


This month is the Poet's Pilgrimage part 3 – Everyone is featured poet – bring new works that you want to share.

 

Poets Attack! ft. Gabrielle Patterson
Wednesday, August 28, at 7- 8:30 PM
Irvington Vinyl & Books

9 Johnson Ave, Indianapolis, Indiana 46219

Join us for this month's Poets Attack event. We'll be featuring local sensation, Gabrielle Patterson and more TBA!

Gabrielle Patterson is a slam poet and motivational speaker who hails from Indianapolis Indiana. She has been working within the Arts and poetry community for the last 10 years, and is the winner of multiple poetry slam competitions all over the country. She has opened for national acts such as R&B singers Erykah Badu and Anthony Hamilton, along with one of the stars of morning talk show, THE TALK, Sheryl Underwood. In 2013 she was a competitor in the Rustbelt Regional competition and finished in the finals. The title of play write is another aspect of her writing where she takes pride. In 2008, Gabrielle wrote her first play called THE OTHER WOMAN, which was seen in poetry venues in Indianapolis to rave reviews. In 2014, she released her newest play called THE WIZER OF ODD to sold out crowds it's opening weekend.

Get in, get culture, get out. This is the motto of Poets Attack. The last Wednesday of each month, for 90 minutes or less, Irvington Vinyl & Books hosts two talented local poets and pairs them with visiting writers from out of state. The goal is to connect Hoosier poets with writers from across the United States, and to build relationships between our local scene and the world outside.



Poetry Slam!
August 28 @ 6:09 pm – 7:09 pm
Monroe County Public Library

303 E Kirkwood Ave, Bloomington, IN 47408

Ages 12-19
Please register for a performer spot. Call Kevin MacDowell 812-349-3050

The Ground Floor is hosting a poetry slam with the aid of local writer PDVNCH. Teens have the opportunity to help plan the event, workshop their own poetry, then run the event and perform it.




Writers Guild at Bloomingon

https://writersguildbloomington.com/


Writers Guild Spoken Word Stage at the 4th Street Festival of the Arts & Crafts
Saturday, August 31, 10am-5pm and Sunday, September 1, 10am-6pm
Dunn Street at 4th St, Bloomington, IN


2 days of poetry, prose, storytelling, radio theatre, and more!
New acts every 30 minutes throughout both days!
PLUS
Poetry On Demand, where festival goers may request a custom poem
from a fleet of crafty poets who will type it up in short order!
FULL DETAILS AND SCHEDULE COMING SOON
https://www.facebook.com/events/891657434530254/




Indy Reads Books
http://www.indyreadsbooks.org/events/
911 Massachusetts Avenue, Indianapolis, Indiana 46202

John Young reading "WHEN THE COIN IS IN THE AIR"
Saturday, August 31, 6:00pm – 7:30pm


A reading by Indianapolis-born writer John Young, introduced by Dan Wakefield.


Like most boys, Jason Blake wants to please his father and older brother. But this erratic father and hyper-competitive brother challenge beyond the norm. To find his way, Jason tries on different roles: schoolyard bully, football player, actor, student. At 20 Jason escapes his Midwest home and seeks independence and adventure: first to Cape Cod, later in Europe. Each adventure takes Jason farther from his father and brother. Each brings him closer to finding himself. When he returns home, the world as he knew it explodes and Jason risks all to protect his mother from his violent father. The dramatic and unforgettable course of events changes the lives in this family forever. And they promise to change the reader too.
johnyoungwriter.com
instagram.com/johnnywisconsinyoung




Zine Fest is a one-day free event promoting zines and zine culture in Indianapolis, IN.

Tables, demonstrations and workshops will take place throughout the day featuring local and regional self-publishers. All INDPLS Zine Fest events will be free, all ages, and open to the public.

Check out our exhibitors list here: http://www.sjanemills.com/izf-2019-exhibitors/

Celebrating the Midwest’s independent publishing and Do-It-Yourself (DIY) culture, the first INDPLS Zine Fest will take place on Saturday, August 31, 2019 from 12 p.m. to 5 p.m. at the Liter House in South Broad Ripple.

Please contact us at indplszinefest@gmail.com if you have any questions or concerns



Poetry on Brick Street
https://www.facebook.com/poetryonbrickstreet/


Featuring Shari Wagner
Thursday, September 5  @ 7pm
SullivanMunce Cultural Center

225 W Hawthorne St, Zionsville, IN 46077

Don't miss September's Poetry On Brick Street! We are hosting former Indiana Poet Laureate Shari Wagner as our guest reader with her excellent new book: "The Farm Wife's Almanac" (Cascadia Publishing House, 2019):
“The farm wife names children after beloved cows, plays rook and wants to be buried in a root cellar. In poem after poem, we see what might appear to be a sheltered, insular life in its true and astonishing expansiveness. These are poems of both intensity and calm beauty, transformative in their vision of the holiness in the everyday.”— Jill Peláez Baumgaertner, Author, What Cannot Be Fixed and Poetry Editor, The Christian Century

Shari Wagner, a former Indiana Poet Laureate (2016-2017), is the author of three books of poems: The Farm Wife’s Almanac (recently released), The Harmonist at Nightfall: Poems of Indiana, and Evening Chore. Her poems have appeared in North American Review, Shenandoah, The Writer’s Almanac, and American Life in Poetry. She lives in Westfield, Indiana, and teaches for the Indiana Writers Center, Bethany Theological Seminary, and IUPUI’s Religion, Spirituality, and the Arts Initiative. To learn more about her, visit www.shariwagnerpoet.com and www.throughthesycamores.com.





2019 Big Read Kick Off
Thursday, September 5 at 6–8 PM
West Lafayette Public Library

208 W Columbia St, West Lafayette, Indiana 47906

Dr. Keith Dickson presents "5 Things to Know about Homer."
Refreshments will be provided. 

 

Vivian S. Delbrook Visiting Writers Series-Butler University
https://www.butler.edu/vws


Madeline Miller
Monday, September 9, 7:30 PM
Shelton Auditorium

Map of South Campus with Shelton Auditorium and Parking Lot
Free and open to the public without tickets. 

Madeline Miller’s second novel, Circe (2018), a feminist response to the Odyssey, was an instant #1 New York Times bestseller. Her first novel, The Song of Achilles (2011), which hypothesized a romance between Achilles and Patroclus in the Iiad, was also a New York Times bestseller and won the 2012 Stonewall Writer of the Year. Miller’s novels have been translated into over twenty-five languages, including Dutch, Mandarin, Japanese, Turkish, Arabic, and Greek. Like all classists, Miller believes that retelling stories gives them a way to live again, allowing their ancient wisdoms and equally ancient blind spots to be seen by new generations of readers. Her re-writings imbue age-old tests from Ovid to Homer to Virgil with contemporary relevance.

For twenty years now, Miller has taught and tutored Latin, Greek, and Shakespeare to high school students. She earned her BA and MA in Classics from Brown University, and studied the adaptation of classical texts to modern forms at the University of Chicago’s Committee on Social Thought and in the Dramaturgy department at Yale School of Drama.




Notre Dame Univerity/Creative Writing Reading Series
https://english.nd.edu/events/2019/09/11/creative-writing-reading-series-ft-michael-mejia/

Featuring Michael Mejia
Wednesday, September 11, 7:30-9:00PM
Hammes Bookstore

Eck Visitors Center, 1 N Notre Dame Ave, Notre Dame, IN 46556

Michael Mejia is the author of the novels TOKYO and Forgetfulness, both published by FC2, and his fiction and nonfiction have appeared in many journals and anthologies, including AGNIDIAGRAMThe CollagistSeneca ReviewMy Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me, and Angels of the Americlypse. A recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Ludwig Vogelstein Foundation, he is editor-in-chief ofWestern Humanities Review, co-founding editor of Ninebark Press, and a professor of creative writing at the University of Utah. 


   
Second Flight Books
https://www.facebook.com/events/832660657095367/
2200 Elmwood Ave. Suite D-7, Lafayette, Indiana 47904


Book of Delights reading with Ross Gay
Thursday, September 12, 2019 at 6:30 PM – 8 PM


Ross Gay’s The Book of Delights is a genre-defying book of essays—some as short as a paragraph; some as long as five pages—that record the small joys that occurred in one year, from birthday to birthday, and that we often overlook in our busy lives. His is a meditation on delight that takes a clear-eyed view of the complexities, even the terrors, in his life, including living in America as a black man; the ecological and psychic violence of our consumer culture; the loss of those he loves. Among Gay’s funny, poetic, philosophical delights: the way Botan Rice Candy wrappers melt in your mouth, the volunteer crossing guard with a pronounced tremor whom he imagines as a kind of boat-woman escorting pedestrians across the River Styx, a friend’s unabashed use of air quotes, pickup basketball games, the silent nod of acknowledgment between black people. And more than any other subject, Gay celebrates the beauty of the natural world—his garden, the flowers in the sidewalk, the birds, the bees, the mushrooms, the trees.

This is not a book of how-to or inspiration, though it could be read that way. Fans of Roxane Gay, Maggie Nelson, and Kiese Laymon will revel in Gay’s voice, and his insights. The Book of Delights is about our connection to the world, to each other, and the rewards that come from a life closely observed. Gay’s pieces serve as a powerful and necessary reminder that we can, and should, stake out a space in our lives for delight.




Saturday, September 14, 2019 at 1 PM – 8 PM
1000 W 42nd St, Indianapolis, IN 46208-3301, United States


Come one, come all, to the most joyful poetry event in all America!

Presented in cooperation with the Butler MFA, the Divedapper Poetry Carnival aims to obliterate the idea that poetry is obtuse, or unapproachable, or in any way un-fun. Spend the day with us. Listen to words, write some of your own, eat a corn dog. It's going to be a good time.

Featuring a rotation of delights: live music, fair food, carnival games conducted by beautiful people with perfect hair, and poetry readings from Hanif Abdurraqib, Franny Choi, and Eduardo Corral – they all have perfect hair too. There will be youth workshops and workshops for adults, free swag, free food—the whole celebration is totally free!

Go here to check out the details: https://www.facebook.com/events/428250081327907/

 

Written by Roxanna Santoro — August 06, 2019


© Indiana Writers Center 2012